Professor John Thor Arnason Receives 2015 ABC Norman R. Farnsworth Excellence in Botanical Research Award

Congratulations to University of Ottawa Professor and former NHPRS Board of Directors member John Thor Arnason who has been given the 2015 American Botanical Council’s Norman R. Farnsworth Excellence in Botanical Research Award. Professor Arnason is an ethnobotanist and natural products chemist whose research has focused on the phytochemisty and various biological activities of plants. He has worked extensively with indigenous populations from around the world to help document and validate their traditional wisdom, and he has also contributed greatly to advance our understanding of some of the most widely used natural health products.

He joins the ranks of previous award winners which include: Joseph Betz, PhD (2005); Edzard Ernst, MD, PhD (2006); Hildebert Wagner, PhD (2007); Ikhlas Khan, PhD (2008); Rudolf Bauer, PhD (2009); A. Douglas Kinghorn, PhD (2010); Djaja Soejarto, PhD (2011); De-An Guo, PhD (2012); Gordon Cragg, PhD (2013); and Harry Fong, PhD (2014).

Photo of John Arnason

Read more: American Botanical Council; University of Ottawa – John Arnason